New Britain Chess Club since January 26, 1901

The New Britain Chess Club is the largest and most historic chess organization in Connecticut.
We meet every Tuesday at the Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection, 1910 Stanley Street, New Britain, CT 06053.
Doors open at 6:30 p.m. (6:15 p.m. when there are training classes).
Club activities begin at 7:15 p.m.
The first few visits are free, so come check us out!
Equipment is provided.

The New Britain Chess Club is currently open on Tuesday evenings at the Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection. If you are fully vaccinated for the coronavirus, you do not have to wear a mask. If you are not fully vaccinated for the coronavirus, or are feeling sick, you will need to wear a mask.

WebEx Lecture link - 6:30pm Tuesdays
Join New Britain Chess Club
Key Links For NBCC Online
Register For An Event

NBCC Newsletters 2005 to 2021
NBCC Archives

     ABOUT          FEATURES          HISTORY          GAMES     


     CONTACT US     

NBCC Executives

Note the following:

All of the officers and Webmaster Gert Hilhorst are lecturers of the club.

All of the officers, Past President Norman Burtness, Lecturer Nelson Castaneda, and Historian Robert Cyr are tournament directors of the club.

The club historian, Robert Cyr, has his picture featured on the history section of the NBCC website.

NBCC Officers

President, Suhas Kodali Vice President, Michael Smith

Secretary, Mario Guevara-Rodriguez Treasurer, David Herscovici

NBCC Officer-Elect

Vice President-Elect, Lisa Smith

NBCC Webmasters

Gert Hilhorst Joseph Mansigian, assistant

NBCC Lecturers

Richard Bauer Nelson Castaneda

Joseph Bihlmeyer Derek Meredith
Jithu Sajeevan

NBCC Tournament Directors

Doug Fiske Mark Bourque

Laurent Lafosse

NBCC Past President

Norman Burtness

NBCC Presidents

2020 - PRES: Suhas Kodali
2016 - 2020: Norman Burtness
2011 - 2016: Derek Meredith
2010 - 2011: Michael Pascetta
2003 - 2010: Joseph Mansigian
2001 - 2003: John Pasco
1970 - 2001: Arkadijs Strazdins
1969 - 1970: Roman Kolodziej
1961 - 1969: Jan Cendrowski
1959 - 1961: Robert Corr
1958 - 1959: William Dworski
1957 - 1958: Jan Laska
1956 - 1957: Robert Corr
1940 - 1956: Edmund Roman
1938 - 1940: Boleslaw Gryboski
1934 - 1938: James Kayser
1901 - 19??: John Kirkham