Connecticut State Chess Association
a 501(c)(7) nonprofit corporation


IM Bogdan Vioreanu Wins 2010 Greater New Haven Open

Dec 7 - IM Bogdan Vioreanu, (2494) took first place, the 2010 Greater New Haven Open Chess Championship held Saturday Dec. 4 at Hopkins School in New Haven. IM Vioreanu, a graduate student in mathematics at Yale University, took top honors in a very strong field of 20 players, 7 of whom were above 2000 strength. First Place U1600 went to Peter DeGroot (1289) of Hopkins; First Place U1200 was shared by Alexander Siegenfeld (Unr) of Hopkins, and Christopher Lomeli (1194) of Gideon Welles School; First Place U1000 went to Mike Javier (Unr) from the Greater Hartford Academy of Math and Science, and First Place U800 went to Franz Garay (Unr), also from the Greater Hartford Academy of Math and Science. Top 3 school teams were Greater Hartford Academy of Math and Science (1st), Hopkins School (2nd) and Foote School (3rd). 68 chessplayers participated in the event, with all chessplayers receiving a Hopkins School commemorative chess set. Check Full Results under Results Section of this website or see

FM Nelson Castaneda is 2010 CT State Champion!

Sep 18 - GM Alexander Ivanov of Newton , MA swept past a strong field (average USCF rating 2071!) to win the Open section of the 2010 UCONN Connecticut State Championships, held during the 19th and 20th days of June. With his perfect score of 4.0-0.0, Ivanov took clear first and with it the $700 prize. However, since Grandmaster Ivanov lives in Massachusetts, he did not receive the title of Connecticut State Champion. That distinction went to FM Nelson Castaneda of West Hartford, CT, who tied for 2nd-4th with Sivasankar Balakumar of East Hartford, CT and NM Max Enkin of Peabody, MA with 3.0-1.0. He received the title of State Champion based on his superior tie-breaks. All three players won $333.33. The U2200 prize also went to Sivasankar Balakumar and the U2000 prize went to Mark Bourque of Stafford Springs, CT, who won $200 for his 2.5 points scored. The winner of the U1800 section and $250 was 8th grader Noah Arthurs of Weston, CT, who defeated Max Krall of West Hartford, CT in the last round for a perfect 4.0-0.0 score. Tied for 2nd-3rd and splitting $100 were Max Krall and David Gaston of South Windsor, CT, who both scored 3.0-1.0. Tied for 1st-2nd for the U1600 prize and sharing $250 were Eric Nechayev of Winsted, CT and Kevin Zimmerman of East Hartford, CT. The UCONN Chess Club would also like to recognize and thank TD Tim Hartley of Storrs, who ran this event in a very efficient and professional manner assisted by the ever ubiquitous and effervescent John Fikiet ! Congratulations to all the players and thanks for coming to this event!

Michael Finneran and Alexandra Wiener are 2010 CT High School Champions!

Sep 18 - Michael Finneran, a sophomore at Roger Ludlow HS in Fairfield, CT scored a perfect 4.0 - 0.0 to take clear 1st in the Connecticut State Chess Association K-12 Open Championship and UCONN School of Engineering $14,000 Scholarship Tournament. Mr. Finneran won the 2009 K - 12 State Championship and the Denker Award as well as the top UCONN SoE scholarship prize of $8000 last year. He was not eligible to win another scholarship again but still returned successfully to the winner's circle in 2010. He will again represent the state of Connecticut in the Denker Tournament of High School Champions in Indianapolis, IN in August. The Denker Award comes with a $300 stipend to help defray expenses to this national event. Finishing 2nd at 3.5 - 0.5 after a mutually agreed upon blitz play-off against Jake Miller was Alex Fikiet, a sophomore at E. O. Smith HS. in Storrs, CT. Mr. Fikiet also took home the top UCONN SoE scholarship prize worth $8000. Jake Miller from Sleepy Hollow, NY, and a junior at Rockland Country Day School in Congers, NY took 3rd overall but earned the 2nd place UCONN SoE scholarship worth $4000. Alexandra Wiener, a sophomore at Staples HS in Westport, CT took 4th place overall also at 3.0 - 1.0. Ms. Wiener also finished as the top female scorer and won both the 2010 National Girls Open Award, ( formerly known as the Polgar Award ), and its $300 stipend, as well as the 3rd place UCONN SoE scholarship award worth $2000. Danny Pascetta, a 5th grader at Nayaug Elementary School, ( !!?? ), and a veteran New Britain CC member finished 5th overall. In the team division West Haven HS of West Haven, CT returned to the top spot after ceding it to Southington HS last year. West Haven was led by Danyal Sumra, Eddie Ozanne,Jeremy Turpin and Jeff McDonald. These fine stalwarts were supported by Cheetiri Smith, Jakes Adei, Brendan Morr, Zandy and Tony Nugyen and Rashid Ramadan. Taking 2nd in the team competition was Roosevelt Middle School, ( !!?? ), of Bridgeport, CT. Team members included Alfonzo Reid, Joseph Pettway, Danisha Thomas and Angel Rosado. Finishing 3rd was Amity HS of Woodbridge, CT whose 2, ( !!?? ), high scoring members, Avery Chen and Ryan Young, propelled Amity to the third position in the team division. Jeff McDonald of West Haven HS took the Top Upset prize, while Danyal Sumra also of West Haven HS took the 2nd Upset Prize. Matthew Stoddard of Smith Elementary in South Windsor, CT took 3rd Upset, while Jake Miller of Rockland Country Day School in Congers, NY and Ryan Young of Amity HS in Woodbridge, CT took the 4th and 5th Upset prizes respectively. We'd like to thank Chief TD David Aldi for another well run event ! He was ably supported by assistant TD's Jim Dunion, IM Jan van de Mortel, IM Robert Hungaski and John Fikiet, all from the UCONN CC..