Connecticut State Chess Association
a 501(c)(7) nonprofit corporation

History 2015

2015 CT State Blitz Championship

Dec 15: NBCC organized the CT State Blitz Championship, 26 players attended. The field included seven masters, including five prior state champions.
The surprise winner, ranked 14th on rating at the start of the event, is William Torres from Waterbury scoring 7/9. See the RESULTS section of this site for a crosstable.

William Torres (playing outdoors at the NBCC Summer Open)

Denker / Barber / NGIT

Aug 4 - Results in Phoenix by the 2015 CT representatives from left to right:
  • Denker, High School: Eric Hilhorst (1/6, 44th from 46 players)
  • Barber, K-8: Dennis Fan Li (4/6, 6th from 50 players, see the GAMES section of this site for his game against Rhode Island)
  • NGIT, K-12 Girls: Beatrice Low (2/6, 38th from 46 players)


Jul 9 - Mark Bourque won the 2015 UCONN CC Championship with a 3.5 0.5 score finishing ahead of Kevin Zimmerman 2nd with 3.0 1.0 and Leon Campo 3rd with 2.5 1.5. Tom Hartmayer took clear 1st in the UCONN June Swiss 2015 with 3.5 - 0.5. Leon Campo with 2.0 2.0 and Mark Bourque at 1.5 - 2.5 took 2nd and 3rd respectively. The UCONN Rated Rampage 2015 begins this coming Thursday, July 9th at 7:30 PM in Castleman 204. Details are here Rated Rampage . Be there or be square !

2015 CSCA Board Meeting

Jun 12 - The CSCA will meet Sat Jun 27 at the West Have Police Department, 12:00 noon. This meeting is a continuation of our Mar 14 meeting, to discuss website update, and changes to format of scholastic championships. All are welcome to attend. For an agenda, please email

Chess for Kids: A Model for Real Life Lessons

Jun 1 - Chess Instructor David Aldi speaks about chess at TEDx conference See VIDEO

CT State Scholastics

Eric Hilhorst wins K-12 HS Championship
and is crowned CT State High School Champion!

Apr 26 - Leo Koganov wins K-6 CT Scholastic Championship. Thomas Ewald goes 5-0 to sweep the K-3 Section. Arjun Arora wins 1st Grade Championship. Full K-6 results at RESULTS

Apr 25 - Eric Hilhorst wins K-12 High School Championship. He will be CT representative at the National Denker Tournament of High School Champions. Good luck Eric! Hans Niemann wins K-8 Middle School section and will be CT representative at the National Barber Tournament of Middle School Champions. Good luck Hans! Beatrice Low is the top female finisher in the HS section, qualifying her to represent CT at the National Girls Invitation Tournament. Good Luck Beatrice! Full K-8 and K-12 results at RESULTS

NM Ian Harris wins 2015 CT State Championship

Mar 8 - The CT State Chess Championships, hosted by The New Britain Chess Club was held 3/7/2015 at The Chess Club of Fairfield County with 35 players in attendance, including 10 masters and 3 previous winners. NM IAN HARRIS was the clear winner. Derek Meredith (2nd place) edged out James "Kram"Nitz (3rd place) on tie-breaks. In the Candidates Section, Thomas Ewald was the top Connecticut finisher, obtaining an automatic bid to the Upper section next year. A complete list of prizes is given in Wall Chart under RESULTS. Many thanks to CCFC for allowing the NBCC to host this event at their beautiful location in Norwalk, and to Tom Hartmayer for helping to direct the tournament.

2015 CSCA Board Meeting

Mar 1 - The CSCA will meet Sat Mar 14 at the West Have Police Department, 12:00 noon. This meeting has been rescheduled from the original Jan date, which was cancelled due to snow. All are welcome to attend. For an agenda, please email

Ted McHugh wins first ever CT Quick State Championship!

Feb 12 - Congratulations to Ted McHugh for winning the 1st ever CT State Quick Championship, hosted by the New Britain Chess Club. 2nd Place went to Nelson Castaneda and Harris Appelman won 3rd place. Top class A player was Norman Burtness, Top Class B player was John Sentilles and top Class D went to Nakul Ramaswamy. RESULTS.