Founded January 26, 1901

The New Britain Chess Club is the largest and most historic chess organization in Connecticut.
We meet every Tuesday at the Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection, 1910 Stanley Street, New Britain, CT 06053.
Doors open at 6:30 p.m. (6:15 p.m. when there are training classes).
Club activities begin at 7:15 p.m.
The first few visits are free, so come check us out!
Equipment is provided.

The New Britain Chess Club is currently open on Tuesday evenings at the Armenian Church of the Holy Resurrection. Masks are currently required to be worn by all members and non-members.

Join New Britain Chess Club
Register For An Event

NBCC Newsletters 2005 to 2021
NBCC Archives

     ABOUT          FEATURES          HISTORY          GAMES     


     CONTACT US     

The New Britain Chess Club Champions

The annual NBCC Championship is the longest club tradition, with the first championship, based on available records, held during the 1930s.

2021: Nelson Castaneda and Joseph Bihlmeyer
2020: Nelson Castaneda
2019: Richard Bauer
2018: Nelson Castaneda
2017: Dennis Prawira
2016: Dennis Prawira
2015: Dennis Prawira
2014: James Nitz
2013: Nelson Castaneda
2012: Nelson Castaneda
2011: Nelson Castaneda and Daniel Rozovsky
2010: Daniel Rozovsky
2009: Nelson Castaneda
2008: Nelson Castaneda
2007: Nelson Castaneda and Richard Bauer
2006: Nelson Castaneda
2005: Robert Lawrence
2004: Nelson Castaneda
2003: Richard Bauer
2002: Nelson Castaneda and Richard Bauer
2001: William Grzesiak
2000: Robert Milardo
1999: Richard Bauer and Harris Appelman
1998: John Pasco
1997: Arkadijs Strazdins and John Baclawski
1996: Kerry Leahy and James Bolton
1995: Kerry Leahy
1994: Robert McDaniel
1993: David Lunden
1992: Zimel Livshits
1991: Richard Bauer
1990: Michael Casella
1989: Richard Bauer
1988: Richard Bauer
1987: Richard Bauer
1986: Eric Godin
1985: Zoran Lazetich
1984: John Baclawski
1983: Robert Milardo and Kurt Holyst
1982: Robert Milardo
1981: Arkadijs Strazdins
1980: Arkadijs Strazdins
1979: Ronald Bourassa and John Baclawski
1978: Robert Milardo, Arkadijs Strazdins and Wesley Frazier
1977: Robert Milardo and Mary Conlon
1976: Arkadijs Strazdins
1975: Arkadijs Strazdins
1974: Robert Lane, Peter Mitchell, Daniel Lechowicz, and Pierre Leclerc
1973: Daniel Lechowicz
1972: Robert Milardo and Arkadijs Strazdins
1971: Arkadijs Strazdins
1970: Arkadijs Strazdins
1969: Arkadijs Strazdins
1968: Arkadijs Strazdins
1967: Arkadijs Strazdins
1966: Arkadijs Strazdins
1965: Arkadijs Strazdins
1964: Arkadijs Strazdins
1963: Arkadijs Strazdins
1962: Arkadijs Strazdins
1961: Arkadijs Strazdins
1960: Arkadijs Strazdins
1959: Arkadijs Strazdins
1958: Arkadijs Strazdins
1957: Arkadijs Strazdins
1956: Arkadijs Strazdins
1955: Arkadijs Strazdins
1954: Arkadijs Strazdins
1953: Arkadijs Strazdins
1952: Arkadijs Strazdins
1951: Edmund Roman
1950: Edmund Roman
1949: Edmund Roman
1948: Edmund Roman
1947: Edmund Roman
1946: Edmund Roman
1939: Anthony Grey