New Britain Chess Club, founded 1901
a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation

Voted Best Chess Club in Connecticut in 2022

Join New Britain Chess Club
Register For An Event
NBCC Bylaws
NBCC Code of Conduct


The New Britain Summer Open Chess Champions

The Summer Open is the NBCC's annual outdoor event, which generally attracts an average of fifty to seventy players from around the region.

2023: Open: Derek Meredith and Suhas Kodali, U1623: Jithya Sajeevan, Scholastic: Praharsh Varada, Sebastian Deliz, Adam Clough, and Robbie Jay
2022: Open: Ian Harris and Nakul Ramaswamy, U1622: Sai Senguttuvan and Yonatan Axelrad, Scholastic: Sai Jeyackumar, Adam Clough, Nathaniel Lee, and Ryan Gentes
2021: Open: Richard Bauer and Derek Meredith, U1621: Elizabeth Smith and Carter Clayton, Scholastic: Zachary Lacava
2020: Open: Gaetano Bompastore and Michael Pascetta, U1620: Elizabeth Smith
2019: Open: Mark Bourque and Joseph Hricko, U1619: Kyle Triplett, U919: Ethan Shemo
2018: Open: Richard Bauer, Nelson Castaneda, Jake Wang, and Charles Hua, U1618: Isaish Glessner and Theordoros Theodoropoulos, U918: Michael Boisselle
2017: Open: Hongtao Lau, U1617: Erin Strauts, U917: Jordan Lefkowitz, Aditya Kurra, Vedanta Bhargava, Peter Wolfe, and Yifan Jiang
2016: Open: Andrew Cowell, U1616: Luis Delgado, U916: Daniel Hoffman
2015: Open: Richard Bauer, U1815: Eric Hilhorst, U1415: James Kolega
2014: Open: Alexander Polak and Nelson Castaneda, U1814: John Sentilles and Robert Cyr, U1414: Avery Hood
2013: Open: Nelson Castaneda, U1813 Jozef Madej, U1413: Miguel Purgatorio
2012: Open: Richard Bauer and Nelson Castaneda, U1812: Jozef Madej, U1412: William Adamson
2011: Open: Alex Fikiet, U1811: Robert McDaniel, U1411: Ben Siegel and Shawn Andrews
2010: Open: Richard Bauer, U1700: Brian Kosnoff, U1300: David Fournier
2009: Open: Dennis Prawira, David Herscovici, Andres Castaneda, U1700: Justin Huguenin
2008: Open: Dennis Prawira and Jason Lenore, U1600: David Gaston
2007: Andres Castaneda and Gert Hilhorst
2006: Yogesh Raghunathan, Seth Neel, and Douglas Fiske
2005: Andres Castaneda
2004: Mark Wilkin and Anthony Diaz
2003: Nelson Castaneda
2002: James Wilkin
2001: Mark Wilkin
2000: Ronald Bourassa
1999: William Grzesiak and Richard Bauer
1998: John Baclawski
1997: James Bolton
1996: James Bolton
1995: Arkadijs Strazdins, James Bolton, and Richard Bauer
1994: Richard Bauer
1993: Arkadijs Strazdins
1992: Zimel Livshits
1991: Douglas Fiske and Richard Bauer
1990: Richard Bauer
1989: Eric Godin
1988: Roger Paul
1987: Scott Gunderman
1986: Scott Gunderman
1985: Eric Godin
1984: John Pires
1983: Arkadijs Strazdins
1982: Peter Thau and Eric Godin
1981: Matthew Coulombe
1980: Thomas Little and John Baclawski
1979: Ronald Bourassa
1978: Steven Strogatz
1977: Jerome Crawford
1976: Julius Fuster, Mary Conlon, and Arkadijs Strazdins
1975: James Bolton
1974: James Baker
1973: Arkadijs Strazdins and William Mammen
1972: Arkadijs Strazdins and Parker Montgomery
1971: Arkadijs Strazdins and Loren Lomasky
1970: William Edwards
1969: Peter Kloskowski
1968: Arkadijs Strazdins
1967: Arkadijs Strazdins
1966: Arkadijs Strazdins